Tuesday Treats

I am not going to start at the beginning today.  I will give you the granola recipe, but I have to start with my Tuesday treat (this could totally become a regular thing).  As I have hinted at before, I love the flavor of bananas, but their gooey, mushy, icky texture is just that to me.  Icky.  I know what you’re thinking.  Who doesn’t like bananas??  Well, I do like them in anything that’s cooked (bread, pancakes, cookies…), just not raw. 

When I saw banana soft serve, I thought it looked amazing, and prayed that I would like it.  I mean it looks exactly like ice cream.  So I gave it a whirl (pun totally intended :P).

Initial Chunks of Frozen Banana

Banana Soft Serve

Verdict:  I can’t think think of a word that captures it’s awesomeness.  It’s so dang good.  I just added a little bit of vanilla extract and almond milk and it was spot on!  Obviously it tastes like bananas, but friends it is anything but icky!!  Recipe is as follows:

  • 2 super ripe frozen bananas
  • 2 tablespoons of almond milk (or any milk, just to loosen it up)
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract

Yep, that’s it.  And who do we have to thank for making so many of us aware of the most natural and probably the healthiest ice cream around?  The lovely Gena at Choosing Raw.  Here’s her post where the great reveal occurred ;).  I’m being totally overly dramatic, but it’s just that good :). *This used to credit the wrong person but the right blog.  I can’t remember who I was thinking of when I wrote this last night, but Gena is the one we can all thank for our new favorite summer treat :D.

I topped mine with almond butter and the raw chocolate syrup they suggested: 2 parts agave nectar to 1 part cocoa powder. 

So, so delicious people.

Entirely Necessary Close Up 😀

Now if you’re still with me and haven’t already run to your banana stash to throw them all into the freezer, we’ll return to our regularly scheduled granola recipe.  Let’s go back to breakfast.  Granola and Fage 0% greek yogurt (if you missed this post about the Fage, this yogurt had stolen my heart).

I promised you this granola recipe, so I am here to deliver!  It’s extremely good and actually something I’ve been making since college.  None of the flavors here are dominant enough to call it any certain type of granola.  It’s just got a nice level of sweetness to it from the agave nectar and brown sugar :).

  • 3 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey or agave nectar
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup any dried fruit, I used equal amounts of dried cranberries and dried cherries

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Combine the honey, canola oil, and vanilla extract in a sauce pan over low heat.  Mix the rest of the ingredients (minus any dried fruit) and be sure to break up any chunks of brown sugar with your hands and evenly distribute it throughout the mixture.  Pour the ingredients in the sauce pan over the dry ingredients and stir until the entire mixture is evenly coated.   Spread granola onto a cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes, then remove from the oven and stir.  Bake for an additional 5-10 minutes watching carefully until browned.

Finally, mix in your choice of dried fruit and enjoy!

Enough Granola for an Army 🙂

For lunch I had 2 more turkey meatballs all gussied up in the last of my proscuitto….

…a spinach salad with cherry tomoatoes and honey dill vinaigrette…

…and Bush’s baked beans I found hiding in my pantry to round it out ;).

Thank goodness for leftovers! 

Snacking this afternoon involved these beautiful organic strawberries I picked up last night.  Actually, only $5!

Now, I’m off to make dinner and go do battle with my lawn :(.  Ugh, can you tell it’s my least favorite part of home ownership?  Oh well, definitely looking forward to my shrimpies for dinner!  Good night!