TGIT

Thank God It’s Thursday!  I’m leaving for Colorado tomorrow to run my 10k in Steamboat Springs and then meet AshleyHeather and some other bloggers/bloggies!  Tonight, I’m getting right down to business.  I haven’t been able to show you some of the awesome things I’ve made this week because of forgetfulness and chocolate overloads, but I’m going to give you the highlights here!

First of all I discovered real greek yogurt this week!  I know!  Real greek yogurt you ask?  Well yes.  I had been buying Greek Gods 0% Milkfat greek yogurt, which I thought was all fine and dandy.  Then the other day I saw Fage 0% greek yogurt and since I’d seen it on a few blogs, I figured I’d give it a try.  What a ginormous difference.  So thick and creamy and… gahh!  Huge difference people.  Huge.  Here are my breakfasts from this week with the lovely Fage.

Granola and Yogurt

I usually make my own granola, but didn’t have a batch on hand, so I went to my layaway stash always kept around for situations exactly like this one.  It’s pretty dang good for a boxed granola!  I was eating this even before my recent switch to eating mostly organic and whole foods.

Yogurt w Honey and Kashi Pumpkin Spice Fruit and Grain Bar

One more breakfast the Fage made it into:  overnight oats!  I’ve seen these bad boys all over the blogosphere too, so once I was almost out of peanut butter, I had to give it a shot.  Sorry about the heinous picture, it was taken with our office camera…  Like I said, forgetfulness…

It contained:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup Fage
  • 1 tablespoon of maple syrup

The verdict:  I’m going to have to try it without the yogurt.  It gave the oats a tang my taste buds weren’t really down with.  I did, however, like the cold oats with peanut butter hiding at the bottom :).  And fullness factor: awesome!  No hunger until lunch.

Next up.  I had the bestest most awesomest crazy tastiest grilled cheese for lunch the other day.  As you saw earlier this week, I bought a wedge of brie, so while sitting at the computer daydreaming working dilligently, and having just finished this raspberry jam and almond butter roll up…

…I thought: why not put brie in here in place of the AB!!  So the next day I did just that, and put it on half of a whole wheat pita.  Tah-dah!

I had it with the lonely brat’s brother.  Odd combo, but still a great lunch!

Now for another new one :D.  The other night I made spaghetti squash for the first time and whipped up some “kitchen sink marinara sauce” to go with it! 

Spaghetti squash is a butt kickin’ way to slide the old pasta off the plate and sqeeze some more veg into your diet when the mood strikes.  And it’s super easy to cook in the microwave.  Just cut it in half lengthwise, seed it, and cook it on high for 6-8 minutes.  Shred with a fork and scoop it out.  Voila!

Kitchen Sink Marinara Sauce

  • one large can tomato puree
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/4 cup diced yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup minced carrot
  • 1/4 cup diced celery
  • 1/4 cup diced bell pepper
  • chili powder
  • oregano
  • italian seasoning
  • healthy pinch of red pepper flakes (depending how spicy you like it)
  • lots of dried basil
  • S&P
  • 1/4 cup red wine

Sautee everything but the wine and tomato puree for 5-10 minutes and then added the tomato puree and wine.  Simmer for 20 minutes on low (while I was simmering I added some spears of broccoli because they looked lonely in the refrigerator). 

Today I turned it into a pizza sauce and topped it with mozzarella and proscuitto.  It’s OK, you can mumble “yummm” to yourself.  No one will judge you.  I put it on a whole wheat pita and broiled it for 10 minutes.  Uh, yummmm…

Delicious Pizza. Awful Picture.

Again sorry for the awful picture.  Super old/ sad work camera…

Kaya-face would like to say hello and good night as well.  Such a heart breaker ;).

Good night guys.  I’ll be back at the end of the weekend!!

5 Responses

  1. I love making brie and jam sandwiches! It’s such a great combo, isn’t it? I love brie on pretty much anything though…definitely one of my fav cheeses!

  2. Good luck in your 10K. I live in Colorado and Steamboat Springs is beautiful, I love to visit there. My friend is doing the marathon up there on Sunday. Hope you have fun!

  3. So glad you could make it today!!! It was great to meet you + your pup!!! =)

  4. […] program.  Let’s go back to breakfast.  Granola and Fage 0% greek yogurt (if you missed this post about the Fage, this yogurt had stolen my […]

  5. […] granola and Fage (click here for the Fage discovery/love post!).  But I promise I’m pretty much out of granola, so […]

Leave a Reply

