Quinoa Salad

I was craving some healthy food for dinner tonight after I cooked the frozen cinnamon rolls from my cinnamon rolling post.  I’ll just say that I may have had more than two…

…with cream cheese icing this time.

Anyways, this quinoa salad is something I made a couple of times in the hostel kitchens in South America because it’s super simple!  The only cooking involved is boiling the quinoa and chopping the vegetables!

The portions I used in this salad are:

1/4 of a yellow bell pepper
2 scallions
1 roma tomato
1/2 of a cucumber
1 clove of garlic
juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/3 cup quinoa, uncooked

Here are the diced vegetables.

While I was dicing the veggies, the quinoa was simmering. 

The water to quinoa ratio is 2:1. Sometimes I have to add a little bit more water, but 2:1 will work 95% of the time.  It should take about 15 minutes to cook.  Make sure to add a dash of salt to the quinoa while it is cooking!

Toss the veggies with the lemon juice and once the quinoa is done and cooled, add it to the vegetables.  I had to add a touch more lemon juice after I added the quinoa.

You can serve this salad with anything!  Tonight I made a falafel pattie.  You can get great falafel mixes in the store or make them yourself from scratch with cooked chickpeas!

Quick tip about cooking falafel patties.  Typically they’re deep fried but you can get away with pan frying them if you use enough oil.  this 2-inch patty took about a tablespoon.  I know oil is scary and fatty, but just pick a healthy one and embrace it!

This dinner made me feel great after a slightly indulgent day ;).

2 Responses

  1. What the heck is a quinoa???

Leave a Reply

