Huevos Rancheros!

So this morning, I woke up and I realized that I had some ground beef that needed to be used.  Since I work at night for the next 3 nights, I figured it would have to become breakfast!

What I did, was turn my family’s taco salad dinner into my own version of huevos rancheros!  So really I just replaced the lettuce with scrambled eggs ;).

Here’s the ridiculously long, but simple, ingredients list:

1 1/2 pounds ground beef
1 can chili beans
1/4 of an onion
2 cloves of garlic
1-2 pasilla peppers
1/2 T onion powder
1/2 T garlic powder
2 T chili powder
2 T cumin
1 T dried oregano
Salt to taste
Sour cream
Shredded cheese
Eggs
Salsa
Corn chips

I started out with two cloves of chopped garlic and 1/4 of a chopped onion.

I started browning the ground beef over medium heat and after a few minutes, added the onions and garlic.

Once the onions are translucent, add the spices and 1/4 cup of water.

While the beef simmered, I started roasting the pasilla pepper.  It’s simple if you have a gas stove.  Just turn a burner onto high heat and roast the pepper until it is all black and blistered.

To make it easier to peel, put the pepper into a paper or plastic bag to let it steam.

While that sat, I added the chili beans to the beef, so that the beans could warm up before everything was ready.

Last were the scrambled eggs and I have found an amazing trick for making scrambled eggs that aren’t dry! Honestly, I just don’t like eggs a whole lot, but if I can get my hands on well seasoned, moist scrambled eggs, I’m all in!

Instead of just adding a splash of milk, also add a couple of teaspoons of sour cream per egg!

And cook the eggs over low heat! Good scrambled eggs take a little while to cook!

While the eggs cook, peel the pepper and cut it open to deseed it.

The roasted skin should rub off pretty easily.  It’s messy, but the smokey chile flavor is unbeatable!

Use your knife to scrape out the seeds and the membrane, but a word to the wise: wash your hands afterwards!!

Add the diced pepper to the beef.

Finally, I put it all together :D.

My favorite part of my mom’s taco salad was the crushed chips on top. So, I topped it with crushed corn chips, sour cream, salsa, and cheese!  And some chopped cilantro!

Honestly, this took forever to make!  I’m always hungry as soon as I wake up, so I was starving by the end of it, but now I’ve got some pretty great leftovers for taco salad or huevos rancheros!!  And you could easily do all of the cooking the day before if you’re a ravenous breakfast eater like me.

2 Responses

  1. Wow Lindsey…looks great. Think I will give it a try, Your grandpa Wyatt would be proud of you. Suzi

Leave a Reply

