First Time Cinnamon Roller

I am a first time cinnamon roller.

Or I was…

I had had my fair share of cinnamon rolls from the can in the refrigerated isle and I’ve even had some really good frozen ones, but lately I’ve been wanting to try making them from scratch.  And making things from scratch and making your boyfriend wait until 11 am for breakfast is just fun :D.

Yes, this took 3 hours and , yes, it was totally worth it.  I got the recipe from Pioneer Woman, because my friend Mal recommended it a while back.

Here’s my version of her version. It’s a bit different because I like to use rapid rise yeast.

First the ingredients list.

  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 package rapid rise yeast
  • 4 cups flour plus 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 tablespoon salt
  • lots of melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • cinnamon for sprinkling

Start by putting the oil, milk, and sugar into a saucepan on the stove.  Scald this mixture by heating it until it is about to boil and then removing it from the heat.  Mine started to foam on top just before I removed it.

Let this mixture cool until it is at the proper temperature for the yeast you are using.  Mine instructs me to use liquids at a temperature between 120 and 130 degrees.

In the mean time, I mixed together the yeast and the flour in a warm kitchen aid mixer bowl (a warm bowl is important, especially if you’re in a cold log home!).  I added the warm liquids and mixed it with the paddle attachment.

I covered this mixture and let it sit for 10 minutes before continuing with the recipe.  With rapid rise yeast, this 10 minutes replaces the first rise in a double rise recipe. 

After that mixture sat, I added the last 1/2 cup of flour as well as the baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

This round of mixing was done with the dough hook.  I let it go on speed 2 until a dough ball formed and started to clean the sides of the bowl.

Turn the dough ball out onto a floured surface and roll it out to 1/4 inch.  Mine was about 2 feet by 10 inches! 

Drizzle the melted butter onto the rolled out dough.  Be generous here.  You want enough butter to soak up lots of the cinnamon and sugar. 

Spread the melted butter (I used my hands) and then sprinkle a hefty amount of cinnamon onto the dough until you have it covered and then sprinkle about 1/2 cup sugar on top of that.

Roll this mixture up from a long side.  Don’t worry if the cinnamon sugar mess is oozing around, just keep rolling…

…until you end up with way more cinnamon roll than you realized you were getting into ;).

Get out your knife and start cutting!  I cut mine into 1/2 inch thick rolls. 

The cutting will “smoosh” the dough but just gently reshape them to be round as you pick them up.  If you want a stiffer dough, refrigerate it before you roll it out.

Now, put some rolls (or all of the rolls, if you’re feeding an army) into baking tins and let ’em rise!  I let mine rise for 1 hour in a warmed oven.  I preheat  oven to 170 and then turn it off for this purpose.

Here are the rolls that I froze for a later date.

Bake your rolls at 375 degrees for about 15 minutes.

These probably could have baked for one minute less.  You’re looking for a golden brown on top. 

I’m an irresponsible blogger and didn’t take any pictures of the icing, but I put a twist on the pioneer woman’s maple icing.  I subbed in almond extract for an almond flavored icing.  The adapted recipe is:

  • 1/2 bag powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 tablespoons of brewed coffee
  • pinch of salt

Mix all of the ingredients until smooth.  This makes enough icing for all of these rolls, so if you’re freezing some rolls, you’ll want to halve this recipe so that you don’t have too much icing. 

Make sure that you let the rolls cool for at least 5 minutes before you ice and devour.

Jesse and polished off all but 3 of these.  I can’t say I regretted it….

2 Responses

  1. You have gone wild since getting that mixer!!! Send all leftovers (if there are any) to me. Thanks

  2. […] was craving some healthy food for dinner tonight after I cooked the frozen cinnamon rolls from my cinnamon rolling  post and I’ll just say that I may have had more than […]

Leave a Reply

