Fresh Baked Bread

Myyyyy goodness, does this house smell good when there is a loaf of bread baking in the oven!!  

Let’s start at the beginning…

I got a Kitchen Aid stand mixer for Christmas! And the only attachement I’ve used so far is the dough hook :P.  I made herbed yeast pull apart rolls the other night – don’t get too excited, no info on that one.  What I do have pictures of is the loaf of white bread I made last night!!  I was motivated by my new toy and because Jesse and I have forgotten to pick up bread at the store twice now…  AND I’m really trying to overcome my fear of yeast breads!  Anyhow, here’s how it all went down!

After mixing the dough, I let it hang out in a bowl by the fire for 10 minutes (only 10 miutes because I used instant yeast).  

Then I rolled it out, shaped it into a loaf, and threw it into the greased loaf pan!  I spaced and did get any pictures of all that, but here’s the result!

So awesome!

It rose and doubled in size in exactly the time it was supposed to, which is more than I can say about the aforementioned herb rolls.

I stuck that beauty in the oven for ~25 minutes at 400 degrees and voila!

One trick I found on the web for making sandwich bread, was to put a pan of water at the bottom of the oven, to help to avoid a super crusty loaf and it worked.  The loaf has proved to be wonderful for toast and I’m going to test it out as sandwich bread later today!

Jesse even gave his stamp of approval, which is saying something!  And now, the recipe:

2-3 cups of bread flour

3 tablespoons of sugar

2 teaspoons of salt

1/2 cup of lowfat milk

3/4 cup of water

3 tablespoons of butter

1 package of instant rise yeast

First, I mixed  1 1/2 cups of flour and the yeast in the mixer bowl.  In a measuring cup, I measured the milk and water and then added the butter, sugar, and salt.  I microwaved this until the butter was melted and the liquids were at 120 to 130 degrees.

With the mixer speed on 2, I slowly added the liquids while occasionally scraping the side of the bowl.  Once this initial mixture was incorporated, I added 1/2 of cup of flour at a time until I hit 2 1/2 cups.

Actually the last half cup all went in at once because the dough hook hit the measuring cup!  Oops!  I actually thought I was done for here, because it almost took 2 minutes for all of the flour to mix in. Then I let it knead for another 1-2 minutes like the instructions said to do and when I pulled the dough out, it felt very stiff.  I just kept following the directions, though, and everything turned out waaayyy better than I could have hoped for!

So get out there and start baking some bread!!  Even if you pull a brick out of the oven, I’m sure your house will still smell good ;).

One Response

  1. Love your breezy way of writing….

Leave a Reply

