Post Holidays Cheer

So a wave of motivation hit me this morning and I decided to write my first blog post in over a year!  I’ll start out with my favorite picture I took over the holidays.

I know you just giggled.  And if you’re wondering how I got this hilarious shot, I was throwing food at her.  Guess she’s as obsessed with food as I am :P.

And here is the recipe that got me all excited about writing this post. 

Any guesses??  They’re gingerbread pancakes of course!

Here’s the link to the recipe I used: Gingerbread Pancakes

2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
2 heaping Tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 eggs
2 Tbsp molasses
2 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled
1 1/2 cups buttermilk

I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of ginger powder, because it just seemed wrong to make gingerbread anything without ginger powder!  I didn’t have buttermilk on hand, so I added lemon juice to milk at a ratio of 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk and I let it sit while I mixed all of the dry ingredients.  To make the batter, just add mixed wet ingredients to mixed dry gredients and throw onto a greased hot skillet. 

Hope you guys can get motivated enough to pull all of these spices out of your cabinet to make these delightful treats too!

2 Responses

  1. These look awesome!!! We just had pancakes the other day but nothing like this – yummmmm 🙂

  2. So glad “Foodie” is back!!!!

Leave a Reply

