Veggie Lasagna, What??

So, I was perusing blogland earlier this week and happened upon a glorious lasagna recipe.  Actually, the original was a vegan affair, but since I’m down with dairy I cheesed it up.  The part I was really stoked about?  Zucchini instead of noodles!!

I’ve always shyed away from lasagna because of the whole noodle debacle….  I mean who wants mushy over cooked noodles?  And I know no one wants any part of undercooked crunchy noodles!  I must say, the prospect of finding that perfect place inbetween has always seemed a bit daunting to me.

Then, voila!  Zucchini noodles!  I was in love.  And I was digging Mama Pea’s quinoa filling since I just happened to have some hanging out in my pantry, waiting for the right recipe to dilly dally on by.

So here, dear folk.  Soon to be bubbling away in your oven…

Quinoa Vegetable Lasagna.  Vegetarian style.

  • 2 large zucchini, cut into 12 thin, 1/4 in. thick slices
  • salt
  • 1 c. quinoa, rinsed
  • 2 c. vegetable broth
  • 1/2 c. tomato sauce
  • 1/4 c. minced onion
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • 1/4 c. fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/4 c. fresh parsley, chopped
  • 2 T. organic or non-dairy cream cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 jar organic marinara sauce
  • 1/2 c. organic or non-dairy cheese

There’s the list of ingredients, but Mama Pea’s got the goods on the how to (the link above).  You don’t need anything too crazy and I just used regular cream cheese and mozzeralla, and went with dried herbs all around!

P.S.  I realize I never gave you guys the goods on my Alaska trip or the big 200 mile relay, so once I don’t have to mooch off the neighbor’s interweb and my internet company get’s their booty out to fix mine, I’ll get right on it!

3 Responses

  1. I will not eat lasagna without REAL cheese. Good call 😉

  2. My mouth is watering!

  3. That sounds awesome! I love lasagna, and quinoa would be a cool addition.

Leave a Reply

