‘Nawlins Baby!

So, I was down in New Orleans this weekend!  My little brother tied the knot!  It was so much fun.  I got to catch up with the whole family, which doesn’t happen often, since they all live back in Virginia where I grew up. 

The ceremony and the reception were beautiful, as was the bride!  Umm, and obviously, it was New Orleans, the food:  fantabulous to the max!  I’ve decided I’m going to do two posts on this trip because there are just too many good pictures to share. 

Today I’ll do the food, since it seems like forever since I’ve done a food post.  Tomorrow I will share the wedding pictures with you!  I kinda stole my cousin’s Canon Rebel DSLR camera during the ceremony and the reception, so I’ve got some goodies to share tomorrow :D.

And in between that last sentence and this one my computer threw the hissy fit of the century, so I’m just going to let the pictures do most of the talking.  PS Drinks count as food :P.

First of many bloody mary’s!

Jambalaya omelette and the best garlic potatoes I dare say I’ve ever had!

We went to the Abita Brewery.  If you’re in New Orleans you must go here!  Free beer throughout the whole tour/presentation!

My friend, Adam, from college who went to the wedding with me.  He lives down in Louisiana and we had a blast!  And that’s my uncle pouring himself a beer!

And here are the rehearsal dinner photos held at The Court of Two Sisters.  Phenomenal. 

Fresh baked bread.

Turtle Soup!!  Crazy delicious.  Like a spicy tomato soup with turtle of course!

Shrimp and grits :D.  Pure joy.  I heart grits.

Tenderloin with green beans and mashed potatoes.  Also stellar.

And creme brulee.  Nuff said!

Then I discovered my cousin’s DSLR!

And then.  Well, then we ventured out to Bourbon Street.  Hand grenades are dangerous.  You have been warned ;).

Hurricanes from Pat O’ Brien’s are awesome.

Greasy pizza.  Scary.

Bloody mary to start the next day of course!

A dozen oysters on the half shell.  Delicious and fresh!

Oyster poboy with blue cheese and tabasco mayo.  I may have had a hangover and this sandwich may have been my savior ;).

Wedding reception!  There so much great food here, but a lot of the photos were on my cousin’s memory card, so I’ll have to share those later, but here are the ones I got.

The uber special crab cake table!!  And they were very uber tasty ;).

Fresh doughnuts and coffee from Cafe Du Monde after the reception.

Then of course there were more hurricanes.  I mean, c’mon.  We were on Bourbon Street ;).

And there may have been another slice of scary greasy pizza.  I couldn’t resist the jalapenos!

My farewell meal before hitting the skies back to Wyoming…  We went to Mother’s.  It’s a famous restaurant in NOLA that I fully recommend.  If you make it there and it’s super busy, stay!  It may take a minute or two, but it’ll be worth it!

The jambalaya.  Amazing, deep flavor. 

And the catfish poboy.  Super tasty and I just couldn’t do anything else fried by day 3, so I went for the grill one.

That’s it guys!!  I’ll see you soon with wedding pics!

5 Responses

  1. I’m so jealous you got to go to Mother’s! Damn those Lutherans!

  2. So jealous of your trip! That looks like some good eatin 😉

  3. Looks like soooo much fun! I’ve always wanted to go to ‘Nawlins. The food looks AWESOME. 🙂

  4. Wow, what an awesome trip!!! That Abita tour sounds way fun 😉

Leave a Reply

