Breakfast for Dinner

Tonight I had my stupid face on while standing in front of the fridge.  Seriously.  It was one of those moments, where you just can’t figure out exactly what you want to eat.  I honestly have no idea how this came to me, because the chipped beef was hiding way in the back of the fridge, but I decided to go for a southern breakfast fave tonight.

Creamed Chipped Beef over an ezekiel english muffin and some canteloupe.

If you’ve never had it before, it’s pretty much sausage gravy minus the sausage, plus chipped beef.  What?  You’ve never heard of chipped beef?  Well you’ve obviously never lived south of the Mason Dixon Line either ;).  Allow me to introduce you.

King of Processed Beef 😉

First you chop and rinse it.  That’s right.  Rinse it.  Why?

That 1370 mg of sodium is why :P.  It even says to rinse it on the container.  And it’s what my grandpa told me to do

Cook for 2-3 minutes over medium heat making sure not to burn the four.  We’re creating a roux for the gravy here folks.  Now start adding  in your milk and wait until each addition thickens until you add more.  I added half of a third of a cup at first (I was using a 1/3 cup measurer :)).  After the first addition…

Add in 1/4 to 1/2 cup increments until all of the liquid is added.

When making a gravy, the general rule of thumb is one cup of liquid to each tablespoon of fat in the roux and for the fat to flour ratio in the roux, it’s 1:1.  And I always err on the side of too thick, because you can always thin it out by adding more liquid.  Making it thicker after the fact is quite a bit trickier!

I topped an ezekiel english muffin with mine.  So good and thick!

Maybe the ezekiel english muffin was a subconscious effort to balance out the fortuitous featuring of processed beef here ;)!   Add some delicious canteloupe and you have breakfast for dinner!

Oh, and my actual breakfast was equally amazing, but will require no instruction.  Just a few friendly tips ;).

I sliced up some bresh baked cracked wheat bread from the grocery store and sliced it up into 1-inch thick pieces.  I let them sit out for a few hours before I started.  This lets them dry out a bit so that they can soak up more egg. 

The best french toast you will ever have will be made from “almost hard enough to kill people stale bread” ;).  Seriously.  The recipe did originate as a means to use up stale bread instead of throwing it away!

On top are frozen peaches thawed in a saute pan with a splash of water and some sweetener until the water reduces a bit and the peaches are warmed.  Plus a few tablespoons of real maple syrup (which I hadn’t added yet!).  I will spare you the lecture, but please treat yourself to real maple syrup and never look back!  It’s worth it!

Until tomorrow… 😀

6 Responses

  1. Lol that beef looks disgusting but I will eat that French toast 😉

  2. My grandma, who’s from Texas originally, used to make creamed chipped beef for me and my sis when we were little…..but my all-time fav grandma breakfast was her creamed tuna on toast! It’s basically the same thing as the creamed chipped beef, but with tuna. Ohhhhhh…..it was sooooo good! If you like tuna in the slightest, you should definitely try it out.

  3. At last . . . a meal for me!!!! Good old fashioned southern comfort food – bring it on!!!!

  4. I have been following your blog for a few weeks now and you have a real knack for it! You make me drool all over my computer so you owe me a new one next time you’re home.
    Keep it up.

  5. […] Rocks There seems to be a comfort food theme going on here this week…  Choc + PB Cupcakes, Chipped Beef Gravy, and now Mac n Cheese .  I heart mac n cheese.  I mean c’mon!  Melty, creamy cheese and […]

Leave a Reply

