Know When to Fold ‘Em

You guys, I feel like Kenny Rogers was screaming this song at me when I got home today. 

First, I left my camera at work.  Again.  I know you’re probably tired of reading that by now, but trust me, I’m just as tired of having to type it.  It was going to be OK, though, because my roommate has a great camera, and to make it up to you guys I had grand plans to document the making of…

…wait for it…

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cupcakes

I’ll give you a minute.  Or maybe I’ll give myself a minute.  I am not a passionate baker by any stretch of the imagination, but this, ladies and gents, I will gladly bake any day of the week given just the right amount of motivation.

Too bad Kenny Rogers saw things differently…

I started by going to store to get avocados because I wanted to make the chocolate cupcake part of the recipe from this Chocolate Avocado Cake recipe that Ashley made a little while ago.  So after a Racheal Ray style balancing act through the grocery store with all of the other things I decided I needed, and losing my keys twice in the grocery store because I kept putting things down to rebalance, I headed home with cupcake grandeur on the brain.

Unfortunately, when I got home I could not get Ashley’s page to load.  Uhhhh, come on internet, don’t fail me now.  And things went downhill from here fast people. 

I decided to just make the peanut butter icing while I waited for the internet to right itself.  I think this is when Kenny caught wind of the impending downward spiral in my humble townhouse kitchen in Wyoming….

I put the peanut butter, butter, milk, and powdered sugar into a bowl and proceeded with my hand mixer.  This thing is a gem from a thrift store raid to fill my first apartment in college 7 years ago.

Martha Stewart's First Hand Mixer

It is now in hand mixer heaven where it should have been at least 20 years ago.  The frosting broke my mixer.  I would be sadder, but this was only the beginning.  Ummmm, food processor to the rescue (I thought).  I coaxed all of the ingredients out of the mixing bowl and into the food processor. 

It whirred and whirred away, but something was amiss.  It wasn’t creamy peanut buttery goodness.  It was a weird glob of greasy…I can’t even find the word for it.

I don’t know what happened.  My only suspicion is that natural peanut butter (sans hydrogenated oils) turned what is arguably one of the most glorious sugary concoctions known to man, into this.

Yeah, that’s the same picture again, but I just kept staring at it.  Is this really happening??  OK, maybe the internet is happy again and I can at least get to the cupcake recipe.  NOPE.  Not gonna happen.  It was at this point that I threw in the towel and Kenny Rogers’ “Know When to Hold ‘Em” started on repeat in my head. 

Some days my dears chocolatey peanut butter bliss just isn’t in the cards…

I would show you what I ended up with for dinner, but I just don’t have it in me.  It was just a pile of self loathing vegetables anyways. 

I’m going to go run this one off.  At least the weather’s turned around here and it’s a perfect 74 degrees outside with a pleasant breeze. 

And I really don’t want to leave you with this epic fail for the night, so why not go check out the new Kaya-face puppy pictures I added to Husky in the Room!!  That face can turn around even the worst of bad days ;).

Oh and Mama Pea’s African Peanut Stew from last night was the exact opposite of an epic fail.  It may be the least photogenic thing I’ve ever taken a picture of…

…but yeah.  It was amazing.  Let me say that again.  Amazing.  Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.  It was a shining light of delicious in a day featuring a not so successful foray into the the world of baking.

I’ll see ya on the flip side.

7 Responses

  1. I sometimes have a hard time loading Ashley’s site (i.e. about 50% of the time)! I think it has something to do with her server, not necessarily your internet connection. Glad to know that the soup was good. I’ve read so many good things about it on a whole bunch of blogs. Who cares about looks if it tastes amazing? 🙂

  2. Booo! My food processor broke this morning and it made me so angry! I know that feeling. At least you had that yummy stew and a puppy to cheer you up!

  3. Oh my word!!! So annoying that the page wouldn’t load! I’m not sure what recipe you used for the frosting, but it might have gotten a little out of whack if you added everything all at once. I would have creamed the butter [softened, not melted] with the powdered sugar and then once that was light + fluffy I would beat in the pnut butter. Then, slowly add the milk until it got to a nice creamy, spreadable consistency. Not sure how to do it with a food processor though!

    • This post still makes me cringe. Haha, mixed the softened butter and PB with the mixer and then it broke when I added half of the powdered sugar :(.

      I just threw everything into the food processor at this point in attempt to salvage the situation (I’ve never tried icing in a food processor either) but…. Well we can all see how that ended…

      I bought a new mixer last night, though, so stay tuned! I may redeem myself after all Kenny!!

  4. […] know you’ve been craving the glorious combo of PB + Choc ever since that heart breaking cupcake debacle….”  OK, may be it was just in my head, but still…behold. Heaven […]

Leave a Reply

