Ho Hum Mondays

Well, as the name of this posts suggests, today was a Monday.  A ho hum, I was out of town, so no fun stuff was waiting in my fridge for leftovers at work today, Monday.  Breakfast pretty much went down on par with last week.  Granola and Fage 0% greek yogurt.

As you can see, it did get a little kick when someone in the office offered me some berries as she was putting her lunch in the refrigerator :D.  To which, I decided a little coconut butter addition wouldn’t hurt!  It was cool because the cold temperature of the berries solidified the coconut butter.  They were like little candy crusted gems in my “ho hum, I’ve been eating this for one week now, granola and yogurt” ;).

Lunch had the potential to be quite lack luster ho hum (may as well stick with the theme here) and entirely too small, but was saved by some left over roast beef and dinner rolls hangin’ out from a meeting luncheon last week!

OK, it’s still not exciting by any means, but it’s cool Mondays, you’re better than Wednesdays in my book any day!  The soup is Amy’s Organic Chunky Tomato Soup with some added dried basil and red pepper flakes :).

With my first bite, I thought it was a bit on the salty side and a quick glance at the nutritional label confirmed my suspicions.  In 1/2 of the can (the same amount that’s photographed) there is 680 mg of sodium :(.  Oh well, it’s all about balance I suppose.  Bright side: at least it was organic and a fifth grader could spell all of the ingredients :)!

Afternoon snackage.

I told you it was a Monday.

Thankfully, dinner marched in to save the day when I got home!  I was looking for something small, because on the way home, my hand was stuck in a consant motion of back and forth between a new bag of organic cherries and my mouth.

I rummaged through the fridge and freezer and found these sweet potato gnocchi that I’d forgotten about from this winter!

I made up a crazy simple sauce to go with them.  Really, it’s so simple, I don’t think the word sauce actually applies, but we’ll just go with it.  Step 1:  melt 1 tablespoon of butter and add 1 teaspoon of olive oil.  Step 2:  Add ~2 tablespoons dried cherries.  Heat through.  Done.

Add cooked sweet potato gnocchi, toss and serve.  And fondly remember the brandy and egg nog you were enjoying with it only 6 months ago with slippers and your favorite couch blanket donned.

Now, I’ve got Mama Pea’s African Peanut Stew hangin’ out in the crock pot overnight (since I usually only average a depressing 6 hours of sleep each night). 

Tuesday certainly will not resemble Monday.  Thanks for being so reliable Tuesday.  I always look forward to you.  Unless you’re my Monday because it was my three weekend off from work.  Then, not so much.  OK, I think that’s enough “crazy lady rocking back and forth on the park bench surrounded by pigeons” rambling for one night. 

It’s bed time blog world!

2 Responses

  1. I LOVE sweet potato gnocchi 🙂

  2. […] and Mama Pea’s African Peanut Stew from last night was the exact opposite of an epic fail.  It may be the least photogenic thing I’ve ever […]

Leave a Reply

