Happy Memorial Day!

Here I am!  Sorry for the absence of Sunday night photo overload, but I didn’t get back home until 1:30 am last night (I’ll reveal the reason in due time :o).  Boo-hiss.  I know.  And, trust me, this morning it showed.  Work was heinous definitely a Monday (operations didn’t exactly go according to plan this weekend) and while I don’t usually make a habit of drinking coffee – it was definitely a coffee day.  And then, when I thought the day had turned around (aka I was on my way home 😉 )…  I realized that I left my camera at work again.  Luckily, my friend, Rick, left his camera here, so I did take pictures of my official Memorial Day grilling session for all of you beautiful people!

Lonely Turkey Brat

Poor little dude.  I’m totally laughing right now.  I know it looks slightly fully pathetic, but I’m counting it :P.

With my grilled hot italian turkey brat, I had some low and slow sweet potaters!  And I added a little somethin’ tasty in the form of…

….creamy, melty brie!  Oh, so good kids!  I sprayed the sweet potatoes with canola oil and baked them at 300 degrees for 1 hour, then put the brie on top for a few minutes.  The potatoes were slightly dried out, though, so next time I’m going to raise the temperature to 325 and try them for 45 minutes.  Any suggestions from you guys would be more than welcome!!

And with that, here’s dinner.

Brat and Sweet Potatoes with Brie 😀

I had spicy brown mustard and ketchup to go with the brat and the potatoes that didn’t get the brie treatment (I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, but I def wish I’d put it on all of them!).

Now I’m off to run with the Kaya-face.  No hail in the forecast this time ;).  And I have this gem waiting for me when I get home. 

Juju Ginger Ale from Left Hand Brewery

Yeah, definitely not the most effective rehydration method (I promise I’ll chug some water with it), but if you had to work on Memorial day too, you’re probably sipping one right along with me!  Cheers!

And fear not!  I do have loads of great pictures from this weekend, so I’ll lay it all on you tomorrow friends :D.

3 Responses

  1. haha that brat looks so lonely! lol but that meal looks so delish! LOVE Brie!

  2. That brat made me laugh aloud. But it looks very appetizing when paired with those sweet potato rounds. Glad you had a fun weekend. 🙂

  3. […] been able to show you some of the awesome things I’ve made this week because of forgetfulness and chocolate overloads, but I’m going to give you the highlights […]

Leave a Reply

