The Show Must Go On

Hey hey hey!  I made it!  Haha, on top of not recommending mowing the lawn at night, I do not recommend five measly hours of sleep after teaching a 2 hour climbing class and then battling with your lawn mower for 2 hours afterwards.  My right arm is indescribably sore from starting the beast over and over again – I mean, who knew you had to winterize a lawn mower??  But I’ve come out the other end ready to blog, because I remembered to bring my camera home tonight 😀 .  So without any further delay, it’s photo time.  Oh, and I discovered what aperture is on my camera thanks to the lovely Pioneer Woman and I’m loving it!  Prepare for photo overload!

Yesterday’s breakfast was the sandwich version of my buffalo chicken omelette.  Just as tasty and I got my whole grains in there with the Wheat Montana Cracked 9-Grain bread!

Then I made a chicken wrap for lunch, since I just bought my first pack of Ezekiel sprouted grain wraps and I was way excited to try them. 

I can’t say the wraps are as good as a nice doughy whole wheat tortilla, but they pack a heckuva heavier nutritional punch, so I’m down with ’em ;).  And I’m not saying I don’t like them, they’re just not as good as their nutritionally lesser cousin.

The wrap had spinach, chicken, vermont extra sharp cheddar (my heart be still)…

…and tomatoes.  Pretty simple, so when I got back to my desk I doused the baby in some Frank’s hot sauce.  Spicy = gooooood.  Today I had the same thing, but with some of that honey curry hummus.  I have to say it really brought the wrap to a whole new level 😛 . 

Snacks.  Yesterday I had and crunchy, juicy, organic Fuji apple, and a fun-size bag of M&M’s. 

Oh, and a piece of the peanut butter bread with a square of Wild Harvest Organic dark chocolate.  Holy wow, yum!!

I said yum right?? 

Let’s see… 

Breakfast today was almond butter oats with coconut butter.  Totally inspired by this chica’s blog, who pointed me to this protein oat cake recipe (mine never cook up like an actual cake, though).  I think I’m going to have to start reading April’s blog… 🙂

Not overly exciting, but so satisfying and delicious!  I ate these at 6:45 am and wasn’t hungry until 11!!  The key is the egg whites + nut butter.  One without the other would not be enough protein and these wouldn’t have a chance of keeping me full. 

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats (not instant!)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I use almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1 tablespoon of agave nectar or any sweetener
  • 1 heaping tablespoon almond butter (or any nut butter)

Mix the first four together and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.  While stirring add the egg whites.  Microwave for another ~2 minutes.  I added agave nectar, almond butter and coconut butter, but with these three you could go crazy and add whatever you want!!  Mashed banana, pumpkin puree, whole nuts, dried fruit….

Ahhhh, and then there was today’s afternoon snack.  A fresh from the oven choc chip cookie and some of those organic strawberries.  The strawbs make it a healthy snack, right??  Right 😉

Oh so gooey….

There was no photo of dinner last night since the camera was MIA, but here’s tonight’s fare.  The making of the honey dill vinaigrette…

Honey Dill Vinaigrette

  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 teaspoons vinegar (whatever you have!)
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper

And here is my “use whatever veggies are in the veggie drawer and try to use up the spinach before it wilts” salad.  Tonight it contained red cabbage, yellow bell pepper, tomatoes, almond slivers, and chickpeas on top of spinach.  And some of that Vermont Extra Sharp Cheddar, aka crack cheese.

That’s a wrap kids!  Time to go run.  Have I told you guys I’m running 8 miles in a team marathon in 1 1/2 weeks?  Should be good times, but I have not been training like I should, so I’ve got to go put some mileage on these legs.  Cross your fingers I don’t get rained on!

4 Responses

  1. Glad you loved that protein cake…April is a genius! I love all of her recipes. I’m glad I could introduce you to her site! 🙂

  2. hi there, just started reading. I am a new blogging too, been going a couple weeks I think? I mean I just started my own (I have been reading blogs for a year!)

    Your dressing looks amazing, I am tired of eating store-bought salad dresssings and like to make my own in the summer so I am going to give that a try!

    • I’m definitely trying to make my own dressings too! This one was really good and inspired by a local restaurant’s house dressing. Very tasty indeed. I’ve also been making a ginger sesame one that I’m sure will show up soon enough!

  3. […] simple, but hey.  It’s a Monday.  I grabbed the leftover Honey Dill Vinaigrette for the […]

Leave a Reply

