Failed Irish Whiskey Caramels

Since I bought a whole bottle of Jameson for a certain irish carbomb cupcake recipe, I’ve been wondering what else I could use it for.

Luckily, I came across a great recipe for irish whiskey caramels.

Unluckily, I failed. Apparently, I let the caramel get too hot when you take my elevation in Wyoming into consideration. Oops!!

The ingredients for the cream mixture.

20120328-114136.jpg

The first caramelization of the sugar.

20120328-114304.jpg

Cooking the caramel after combining the sugar and cream mixtures.

20120328-114747.jpg

I cooked the caramels to 248 degrees like the recipe said, but apparently the temperature can be finicky depending on your kitchen.

20120328-121335.jpg

So I ended up with an 8×8 inch hardened caramel. Doh!

20120328-121449.jpg

They aren’t bad as hard caramels, but what am I supposed to do with an 8×8 inch rock hard brick of caramel?? ;)

Maybe you’ll have better luck!!

3 Responses

  1. You could break it up and make that toffee bark stuff with some extra dark chocolate??

  2. You are truly the great granddaughter of a candy maker! and great -great granddaughter, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

