Orange Cookies Gone Wild

Yesterday I finally made some orange cookies I’ve been meaning to make for about a month now!

20120309-110804.jpg

I found the recipe on my new addiction: Foodgawker.

Here is the recipe from Bake-Aholic:

Cookies:
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup sour cream
2 eggs
4 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup orange juice from the zested oranges
3 T orange zest

Icing:
1/4 cup butter at room temperature
2 cups powdered sugar
1 T orange zest
2-3 T orange juice

For the cookies, cream the butter and the sugar. Next add one egg at a time and then mix in the sour cream. Last, slowly incorporate the sifted dry ingredients.

Drop by teaspoonfuls and bake at 375 for 10 to 12 minutes.

While the cookies bake, make the icing. I combined the butter and sugar first and then mixed in the zest and orange juice.

The night that I made these my boyfriend said I should’ve tried chocolate chips in them. Obviously it was a bit late for that but I came up with this twist!

20120310-104314.jpg

I had some extra ganache in my fridge from some cupcakes, so I decided to drizzle the ganache over the cookies! The ganache is super easy to make.

Over a double boiler whisk together the following ingredients until smooth:

4 ounces semi sweet chocolate
1/4 cup heavy cream

I looked at Ina Garten’s recipe and also added 1/2 teaspoon of instant coffee.

20120310-113728.jpg

I hope you all enjoy these!

2 Responses

  1. I’m gaining weight just looking at your foodie blog!!

  2. Jesse and I are gaining weight too!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

